The 2022 Plasma Roadmap: low temperature plasma science and technology

I. Adamovich, S. Agarwal, E. Ahedo, L.L. Alves, S. Baalrud, N. Babaeva, A. Bogaerts, A. Bourdon, P.J. Bruggeman (Corresponding author), C. Canal, E.H. Choi, S. Coulombe, Z. Donkó, D.B. Graves, S. Hamaguchi, D. Hegemann, M. Hori, H.-H. Kim, G.M.W. Kroesen, M.J. KushnerA. Laricchiuta, X. Li, T.E. Magin, S. Mededovic Thagard, V. Miller, A.B. Murphy, G.S. Oehrlein, N. Puac, R.M. Sankaran, S. Samukawa, M. Shiratani, M. Šimek, N. Tarasenko, K. Terashima, E. Thomas, J. Trieschmann, S. Tsikata, M.M. Turner, I.J. van der Walt, M.C.M. van de Sanden, T. von Woedtke

Research output: Contribution to journalArticleAcademicpeer-review

167 Citations (Scopus)
214 Downloads (Pure)


The 2022 Roadmap is the next update in the series of Plasma Roadmaps published by Journal of Physics D with the intent to identify important outstanding challenges in the field of low-temperature plasma (LTP) physics and technology. The format of the Roadmap is the same as the previous Roadmaps representing the visions of 41 leading experts representing 21 countries and five continents in the various sub-fields of LTP science and technology. In recognition of the evolution in the field, several new topics have been introduced or given more prominence. These new topics and emphasis highlight increased interests in plasma-enabled additive manufacturing, soft materials, electrification of chemical conversions, plasma propulsion, extreme plasma regimes, plasmas in hypersonics, data-driven plasma science and technology and the contribution of LTP to combat COVID-19. In the last few decades, LTP science and technology has made a tremendously positive impact on our society. It is our hope that this roadmap will help continue this excellent track record over the next 5-10 years.

Original languageEnglish
Article number373001
Number of pages55
JournalJournal of Physics D: Applied Physics
Issue number37
Publication statusPublished - 15 Sept 2022

Bibliographical note

Funding Information:
Cristina Canal acknowledges PID2019-103892RB-I00/AEI/10.13039/501100011033 Project (AEI) and the Generalitat de Catalunya for the ICREA Academia Award and SGR2017-1165. Dirk Hegemann acknowledges financial support by the Swiss National Science Foundation (SNSF Project No. 200021_169180).

Funding Information:
Satoshi Hamaguchi thanks Dr Kazumasa Ikuse of Osaka University for helpful discussion as well as for providing figure . He is also grateful for the funding support by the Japan Society of the Promotion of Science (JSPS) Grants-in-Aid for Scientific Research (A) 21H04453, (S) 15H05736, Grant-in-Aid for Exploratory Research 18K18753, and JSPS Core-to-Core Program JPJSCCA2019002. Jan Trieschmann thanks Tobias Gergs and Professor Thomas Mussenbrock of Ruhr University Bochum for helpful discussions and continuous support. He acknowledges funding by the Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft (DFG, German Research Foundation)—Project-ID 138690629—TRR 87 and—Project-ID 434434223—SFB 1461.

Funding Information:
The research by Annemie Bogaerts was funded by the European Research Council (ERC) under the European Union’s Horizon 2020 research and innovation programme (ERC Synergy Grant 810182 SCOPE).

Funding Information:
Nevena Puač is supported by MESTD of Republic of Serbia Grant No. 451-03-68/2021-14/200024. Masaharu Shiratani is supported by JSPS KAKENHI Grant Numbers 20H00142 and JSPS Core-to-Core Program JPJSCCA2019002.

Funding Information:
Milan Šimek and Mark J Kushner thanks colleagues who provided input to the survey on research challenges (Z Bonaventura, T Farouk, J Foster, N Garland, A Hamdan, M Hasan, P Lukes, M Shneider, K Stapelmann, K Tachibana, A von Keudell). M J Kushner acknowledges support from the US National Science Foundation (CBET-2032604, PHY-2020010), Department of Energy (DE-SC0020232) and Army Research Office (W911NF-20-1-0105). M Šimek acknowledges support from the Czech Science Foundation (GA 18-04676S).

Funding Information:
Hyun-Ha Kim wishes to acknowledge the support from JST CREST (Grant Number JPMJCR19R3). Selma Mededovic Thagard would like to acknowledge support from the US Department of Energy, Office of Science, Office of Basic Energy Sciences Energy Frontier Research Centers Program (Award Number DE-SC-0001234).

Funding Information:
Edward Thomas Jr and Gerrit M W Kroesen thank the following agencies for their continued support of their dusty/complex plasma research. G K thanks the Dutch Foundation for Scientific Research (NWO), and the European Commission. E T thanks the National Science Foundation, Department of Energy, and NASA.

Funding Information:
Eun Ha Choi has been partially supported by National Research Foundation of Korea (NRF-2016K1A4A3914113). and Thomas von Woedtke gratefully acknowledges the financial support by the Federal German Ministry of Education and Research (Grant Nos. 03Z22DN11 and 03Z22DN12).

Funding Information:
Eduardo Ahedo was funded by Spain’s Agencia Estatal de Investigación, under Grant No. PID2019-108034RB-I00 (ESPEOS Project).

Funding Information:
Igor V Adamovich acknowledges the support of US Department of Energy Collaborative Research Center for Studies of Plasma-Assisted Combustion and Plasma Catalysis (Grant DE-SC0020233), and US Air Force Office of Scientific Research Grant FA9550-17-1-0370. The work of Thierry E Magin was supported by the European Space Agency (GSTP and TRP programs), European Research Council (Starting Grant #259354) and US Air Force Office of Scientific Research (Grant #FA9550-18-1-0209).

Funding Information:
The editors of this roadmap Anne Bourdon and Peter J Bruggeman in developing the 2022 Roadmap were supported by the US Department of Energy, Office of Science, Office of Fusion Energy Sciences, General Plasma Science program, under Award DE-SC-0020232, the National Science Foundation under Awards PHY 1903151, CBET 1703439 and PHY 2020695, the Army Research Office under Grant W911NF-20-1-0105, ANR (No. ANR-16-CHIN-003–01) and Safran Aircraft Engines within the Project POSEIDON. Anne Bourdon and Peter Bruggeman are thankful to Professors Uwe Czarnetzki and Mark J Kushner for helpful discussions during the preparation of the 2022 Plasma Roadmap.

Funding Information:
Xingwen Li was supported in part by the National Natural Science Foundation of China under Grants 51825702 and 51907154.

Funding Information:
Zoltan Donko acknowledges the support by the National Office for Research, Development, and Innovation of Hungary (NKFIH) K-134462

Funding Information:
Luís Lemos Alves was partially funded by the Portuguese ‘FCT-Fundação para a Ciência e a Tecnologia’, under Projects UIDB/50010/2020 and UIDP/50010/2020.

Funding Information:
The work of Sumit Agarwal was supported by Lam Research Corporation. The work of Natalia Babaeva was supported by RFBR Grant 20-02-00320.


  • low temperature plasma
  • plasma applications
  • plasma diagnostics
  • plasma material processing
  • plasma modeling
  • plasma science and technology
  • roadmap


Dive into the research topics of 'The 2022 Plasma Roadmap: low temperature plasma science and technology'. Together they form a unique fingerprint.

Cite this