• P.O. Box 513 , Building Flux 9.095

    5600 MB Eindhoven


Organization profile

Introduction / mission

We are creating a coherent, integrated approach to wireless systems, from the propagation of radio waves up to and including optical and wireless access networks. Our goal is to push boundaries and explore new applications of wireless technology.

Highlighted phrase

Multidisciplinary, application-oriented research into wireless technologies

Organisational profile

The CWTe is a collaboration of five research groups of the Electrical Engineering department of Eindhoven University of Technology (TU/e): Electromagnetics (EM), Integrated Circuits (IC), Signal Processing Systems (SPS), Electronic Systems (ES) and Electro-optical Communication (ECO). We focus on four programs: Ultra-High Data-Rate Systems, Ultra-Low Power and Internet-of-Things Communication, Terahertz Technology, and Radio Astronomy.

Together, these programs cover a range of topics such as antenna design, wireless power transfer, data conversion and RF circuit design, signal processing, communications baseband algorithms, and optical and wireless access network design.

We continuously develop a vision for each of our programs, their applications and supporting technologies. Our horizon extends, at this moment, to 2028. It includes a regularly updated roadmap of the enabling technologies that will be needed. Based on this, we define the research direction and identify the areas where collaboration with other disciplines and partners will be required.

The Ultra-High Data-Rate Systems program covers network architectures and system design for high-speed, high-capacity wireless communications. We aim at solutions for pushing data rates toward terabits per second. The Ultra-Low Power and Internet-of-Things Communication program focuses on the spectrum and energy efficiency of the IoT, such as ultra-low-power circuitry and protocols. Our goal is to develop enabling techniques for massive and dependable energy-efficient communication networks. The Terahertz Technology program is working on the next step to realize miniaturized and affordable terahertz systems. It will be these systems that will bring the wealth of terahertz applications from the laboratory to the real world where companies, medical centers and consumers will profit from the special detection and imaging properties of this frequency range. Our Radio Astronomy program focuses on designing the next generation of radio telescopes. The universe has never been properly mapped at low frequencies (below 30 MHz), and this research contributes to a space-based radio telescope with the goal to look deeper into space.

Fingerprint Dive into the research topics where Center for Wireless Technology Eindhoven is active. These topic labels come from the works of this organisation's members. Together they form a unique fingerprint.

Antennas Engineering & Materials Science
Communication Engineering & Materials Science
Millimeter waves Engineering & Materials Science
Radio-over-fiber Engineering & Materials Science
Wireless local area networks (WLAN) Engineering & Materials Science
MIMO systems Engineering & Materials Science
Congestion control (communication) Engineering & Materials Science
antennas Physics & Astronomy

Network Recent external collaboration on country level. Dive into details by clicking on the dots.

Projects 2016 2022

Research Output 2007 2020

12 Downloads (Pure)

5G RAN architecture based on analog radio-over-fiber fronthaul over UDWDM-PON and phased array fed reflector antennas

Konstantinou, D., Bressner, T. A. H., Rommel, S., Johannsen, U., Johansson, M. N., Ivashina, M. V., Smolders, A. B. & Tafur Monroy, I., 1 Jan 2020, In : Optics Communications. 454, 10 p., 124464.

Research output: Contribution to journalArticleAcademicpeer-review

Open Access
reflector antennas
Antenna reflectors
Dense wavelength division multiplexing
Antenna phased arrays
1 Citation (Scopus)

A roadmap towards a space-based radio telescope for ultra-low frequency radio astronomy

Bentum, M. J., Verma, M. K., Rajan, R. T., Boonstra, A. J., Verhoeven, C. J. M., Gill, E. K. A., van der Veen, A. J., Falcke, H., Wolt, M. K., Monna, B., Engelen, S., Rotteveel, J. & Gurvits, L. I., 15 Jan 2020, In : Advances in Space Research. 65, 2, p. 856-867 12 p.

Research output: Contribution to journalArticleAcademicpeer-review

Radio astronomy
Radio telescopes
extremely low frequencies
radio astronomy
radio telescopes

Low power, low latency, and reliable wireless links

Mendes da Costa Junior, C., 2 Mar 2020, (Accepted/In press) Eindhoven: Technische Universiteit Eindhoven. 137 p.

Research output: ThesisPhd Thesis 1 (Research TU/e / Graduation TU/e)

Activities 2017 2017

  • 1 Workshop, seminar, course or exhibition

European Microwave Week 2017 (EuMIC 2017)

Ad Reniers (Contributor), A.B. Smolders (Chair), U. Johannsen (Contributor)
9 Oct 2017

Activity: Participating in or organising an event typesWorkshop, seminar, course or exhibitionScientific

Research areas

Internet of Things Communication

Jan Haagh (Researcher), Rianne Sanders (Content manager)


Radio Astronomy

Jan Haagh (Researcher), Rianne Sanders (Content manager)


Terahertz Technology

Jan Haagh (Researcher), Rianne Sanders (Content manager)


Student theses

Design and realization of indoor airships with two actuation units and energy performance analysis

Author: Xia, Y., 26 Nov 2018

Supervisor: Exarchakos, G. (Supervisor 1) & Bembnowicz, P. (External person) (External coach)

Student thesis: Master


Design of a compact, low-loss, 76-81 GHz transformer-based quadrature generation circuit in 28-nm CMOS

Author: Shruti, K. N., 30 Aug 2018

Supervisor: Matters-Kammerer, M. (Supervisor 1) & Osorio, J. F. (External person) (External coach)

Student thesis: Master

Unsupervised feature learning in a federated setting for human activity detection

Author: van Berlo, B., 30 Sep 2019

Supervisor: Ozcelebi, T. (Supervisor 1), Exarchakos, G. (Supervisor 2), Menkovski, V. (Supervisor 2), Saeed, A. (Supervisor 2) & Brandsma, E. (External person) (External coach)

Student thesis: Master